If you are interested in learning more about sustainable textiles and fashion, here is a list of resource links. Be part of this active community, get involved, and explore the many facets of the fashion and textile industry.

ORGANIZATIONS

Bureau of International Recycling http://www.bir.org/

Clean Clothes Campaign http://www.cleanclothes.org/

Council for Textile Recycling http://www.weardonaterecycle.org/

Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institute http://www.c2ccertified.org/

European Environment Agency http://www.eea.europa.eu/

International Solid Waste Association http://www.iswa.org/

Nordic Initiative Clean & Ethical www.nicefashion.org/

ReDRESS Hong Kong http://redress.com.hk/

Secondary Materials and Recycled Textiles (SMART) http://www.smartasn.org/

Textile Exchange http://textileexchange.org/

United States Environmental Protection Agency http://www.epa.gov/

Waste and Resources Action Programme (WRAP) http://www.wrap.org.uk/

COMMUNITIES / THINK TANKS

Brooklyn Fashion Design Accelerator (BF+DA) http://bkaccelerator.com/

Center for Sustainable Fashion – University of the Arts London http://sustainable-fashion.com/

Ethical Fashion Forum http://www.ethicalfashionforum.com/

Fashion Revolution http://fashionrevolution.org/

Textiles Environment Design http://www.tedresearch.net/

The Textile Toolbox http://www.textiletoolbox.com/

MAGAZINES AND BLOGS

Eco Fashion Talk http://www.ecofashiontalk.com/

Hand/Eye Magazine http://www.handeyemagazine.com/

Worn Stories http://wornstories.com/

About Recycling http://recycling.about.com/od/Glossary/a/About-Textile-Recycling.htm

“Where do your old clothes go?” in BBC Magazine (2015) http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-30227025

DOCUMENTARIES

The Cotton Film: Dirty White Gold  by Leah Borromeo (2012) http://thecottonfilm.com/

The True Cost of Fashion by Andrew Morgan (2015) http://truecostmovie.com/

T-Shirt Travels by Shanta Bloemen (2001) http://www.pbs.org/independentlens/tshirttravels/film.html

Unravel  by Meghna Gupta (2012) https://vimeo.com/36337457

Worn Wear by Keith, Lauren, Chris, and Dan Malloy – Patagonia (2013) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z20CjCim8DM

About the Author

Magali An Berthon is a textile researcher and designer, focusing in particular on world textile crafts and sustainable fashion. After an MFA in textile design in Paris, she studied textile history at the Fashion Institute of Technology NY on a Fulbright fellowship in 2014. Since June 2015, she is a curatorial fellow at the Textile Department at Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum.

Scraps Stories

This post is part of the blog series Scraps Stories dedicated to exploring sustainable textiles and fashion, in relation to the exhibition Scraps: Fashion, Textiles, and Creative Reuse.

3 thoughts on “Scraps: Resource List

Hi
I am a senior teacher at Shenkar, engineering design art university
Isreal.
I teach at the fashion design department and the course i lead is a sustainability fashion one based on up cycling slow fashion and zero waist principals and more.
I would love to read those ? books!

Thank you so much. We are pleased to know that the list will be useful to you and your students. Don’t hesitate to look at online links as well! Best, Magali An

I have two more book recommendations:

Fashion and Sustainability: Design for Change, Kate Fletcher and Lynda Grose
Lawrence King Publishing

Fashion Fibers: Designing for Sustainability, Annie Gullingsrud
Bloomsbury publishers

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.