Annual Report of Gifts

two pairs of hands, what appears to be a mother and small child, handling bits of colorful paper, as if collaborating on an art project

Gifts received from October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2022

Cooper Hewitt appreciates the generous support of the following donors who believe in the potential of great design to improve our shared world.

$100,000 and above

The Coby Foundation
Ravenel and Elizabeth Curry Foundation
The Decorative Arts Trust
Ford Foundation
Helen and Edward Hintz
Meta Platforms Inc.
Lisa Roberts and David Seltzer
Smithsonian American Women’s History Initiative
Smithsonian Collections Care & Preservation Fund
Smithsonian Together We Thrive Initiative


Adobe Inc.
Lily Auchincloss Foundation
The Richard and Jean Coyne Family Foundation
Shelby and Frederick Gans
Alexandra and Paul Herzan
IBM Corporation
New York City Department of Cultural Affairs
The Pinkerton Foundation
Crystal and Chris Sacca
Smithsonian American Experience
Smithsonian World Cultures
Esme Usdan and James Snyder


The Ambrose Monell Foundation
Irene Au and Bradley Horowitz
The Ayco Charitable Foundation
Belsky Family Foundation
Bloomberg Philanthropies
Amita and Purnendu Chatterjee
Consulate General of the Netherlands
Jon C. Iwata
Rita J. and Stanley H. Kaplan Family Foundation
Samuel H. Kress Foundation
Ivy Ross
Henry R. Muñoz III
New York State Council on the Arts
Mac and Kim Schuessler
Margaret and David Stewart
Lenore G. Tawney Foundation


Arthur F. and Alice E. Adams Foundation
Milton and Sally Avery Arts Foundation
Yaroslav Faybishenko and Jennie Rubinshteyn
The Felicia Fund
Cary J. Frieze
Google, Inc.
Estate of Nancy Gruber
Agnes Gund
The Original I.P.
Margery and Edgar Masinter
Mergentime Family Archive
Natalie W. Nixon, Ph.D. and John A. Nixon II
Richard M. Smith and Dr. Soon-Young Yoon


Josef and Anni Albers Foundation
Adam Charlap Hyman
Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel
Furthermore: A Program of the J.M. Kaplan Fund
Imaginary Forces
Kelson Foundation
John Maeda
Netherland-America Foundation
The New York Community Trust
George O’Brien
Charles E. Sampson Memorial Trust
Michael Shreve
Smithsonian Accessibility Innovations Fund
Smithsonian Research Equipment Pool
Denise Littlefield Sobel
Colleen Ross Weis and Martin Laiks
Suzanne Tick
Elizabeth Whelan
Ransom C. Wilson
Beth Uffner
Keith Yamashita


Acorn Hill Foundation
Joan Barenholtz
Elizabeth Boyer
Monty Cleworth and Susannah Drake
Sarah D. Coffin
Gail S. Davidson and Jerome Davidson
Suzanne Frye
Katja B. Goldman and Michael W. Sonnenfeldt
Robert L. and Susan S. Hermanos
Hal Higginbotham and B. Buckner Higginbotham
Patricia Klingenstein
Paul Leinwand
Chien C. Liu
Peter L. Malkin
Pierre and Tana Matisse Foundation
Ruki Neuhold-Ravikumar
Patricia Orlofsky
Cye E. Ross
Jean Troubh
Zachary K. Turner
David B. Wood and Dr. Nancy Judge


Victor Calise
Ellen Christiansen and Gerrit de Jonge
Barry and Bobbi Coller
William F. Harrison
Carrie Johnson
Steve Miller
Karen A. Phillips
Barbara G. Pine
Marigold Randall
J. L. Scott and Jennifer Davies
Marilyn F. Symmes
Nora Tezanos

donors to the collection

Arevik d’Or
Ola Baldych
Amy Biehl
Bill Bonnell
Caitlin Condell
Daniel Coull
Pablo Delcan
Matt Dorfman
Kim and Al Eiber
Lorenzo Fanton
Susan Robson Frampton
Irene and Richard S. Frary
Joe Hollier
Institute for Studies on Latin American Art
Johns Hopkins University
Linda Lichtenberg Kaplan
Demetri Karousos
Jennifer Kinon
Eino Korkala
Ellen Lupton
Bobby C. Martin, Jr.
Milton Glaser Inc.
Emily Oberman
In memory of John Bennett Pickens
David Plunkert
Philip and Stuart Rickey in memory of Edie and George Rickey
John A. Rogers
Philip Rossetti
Paula Scher
Tania Vartan
Klaas Verplancke
Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering at Harvard University


Featured Image: Photo by Angela Jimenez Photography