National Design Awards

8 pointed star glass trophy

About the awards

Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum’s National Design Awards program honors innovation and impact and recognizes the power of design to change the world. Launched in 2000 as an official project of the White House Millennium Council, the Awards seek to increase national awareness of the impact of design through education initiatives.

The National Design Awards is one of the few programs of its kind structured to continue to benefit the nation long after the National Design Awards Gala. A suite of educational programs are offered in conjunction with the Awards during National Design Week, an initiative launched in 2006 and expanded in 2020 to National Design Month that aims to draw national attention to the ways in which design enriches everyday life. Through NDA CITIES, Cooper Hewitt brings design literacy to communities around the country with hands-on workshops, professional development opportunities, and dynamic panel discussions.

Award Categories

Reflecting the ever-growing scope of design, the National Design Awards program now includes nine jury-selected award categories.

  • Design Visionary
  • Climate Action
  • Emerging Designer
  • Architecture and Interior Design
  • Communication Design
  • Digital Design
  • Fashion Design
  • Landscape Architecture
  • Product Design

Learn More

Read more about the National Design Awards categories and selection process or browse a list of all past honorees.


Visit the National Design Awards Gallery, powered by Behance, to view the work of National Design Award honorees and jurors.

A message from First Lady Jill Biden, Honorary Patron, National Design Awards

What are the National Design Awards?

Celebrating 20 Years of the National Design Awards

The Asterisk Trophy

The National Design Awards trophy was originally designed in a twisted asterisk form by William Drenttel and Jessica Helfand in 2000. The trophy is the physical embodiment of the National Design Awards celebration of innovation and impact in American design. For the first decade, the trophies were produced by Saint-Gobain Advanced Ceramics, a world leader in the habitat and construction markets. In 2010, Smart Design, that year’s winner in Product Design, recreated the original trophy in a new stainless-steel composite material. In 2011, The Corning Museum of Glass worked with a team from Cooper Hewitt to design a new trophy in glass and continues to produce the trophies today.

Created as part of the Corning Museum’s GlassLab initiative, which serves to explore new design concepts and push the boundaries of innovation and creativity, the National Design Awards trophy features significant optical interest and distortion in the glass. Rather than pristine, pure glass without bubbles, the trophy’s glass striations offer a hand-hewn, raw quality that appealed to the Cooper Hewitt team. The top of the trophy is cut at a 50° angle, which allows viewers to peer into the glass and see their reflection and also permits the trophy to be set on the cross-section of the asterisk. Each trophy is hand-polished and takes six to eight hours to complete.

2021 Special Thanks

National Design Awards programming is made possible with major support from Facebook, Inc., Shelby and Frederick Gans, Helen and Edward Hintz, The Hirsch Family Foundation, IBM Corporation, and Crystal and Chris Sacca.

Generous support is also provided by Lisa Roberts and David Seltzer.

National Design Award trophies are created by The Corning Museum of Glass.