Author: Katie Shelly

Join us to hear fashion luminaries Maria Cornejo, Francisco Costa, and Narciso Rodriguez speak with NBC’s Natalie Morales about their influences, process, and inspirations. DISEÑO is a partnership between Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum and El Museo del Barrio. This program received federal support from the Latino Initiatives Pool, administered by the Smithsonian Latino Center.
Design by Hand | Public Lecture with Heath Ceramics
Join us as Catherine Bailey (Creative Director), Robin Petravic (Managing Director), and Tung Chiang (San Francisco Studio Director) of Heath Ceramics talk about the history and inspiration behind the iconic American brand.
Design by Hand: The Spirit of Marimekko Design
Join us for a discussion with Marimekko designers Aino-Maija Metsola, Mika Piirainen, and Sami Ruotsalainen, as they speak about their approach to design, and the unique vision of the iconic brand. Design by Hand is made possible by the support of Van Cleef & Arpels
Behind the Scenes: National Design Awards Jury 2014
How does the National Design Award Jury choose the big winners? Find out in this short video featuring 2014 Jurors Bruce Mau, Kate Aronowitz, Celerie Kemble, Lucinda Sanders, Tom Kundig, Eric Anderson, Ivan Poupyrev, Armin Vit and Anna Sui.
National Design Awards Gala 2014
Celebrate 15 years of American design at the 2014 National Design Awards Gala held at Pier Sixty in New York City on Thursday, October 9, 2014!
2014 Winners’ Panel
Join us for a special panel discussion featuring our 2014 National Design Award winners. Panelists will discuss what drives and inspires them as designers, and include John Edson, President, LUNAR (Product Design Award); Aaron Koblin (Interaction Design Award); Narciso Rodriguez (Fashion Design Award); and Robin Standefer, Principal, Roman and Williams Buildings and Interiors (Interior Design...
Image of two silhouettes in an architectural rendering of a room with pattern all over the walls and one of the people is hunched over a table, as if to draw. on the right, a different image of a woman sketching on a digital table, drawing a thick black line over the contour of a drawn teacup.
Announcing Dec. 12 Opening of Renovated Carnegie Mansion and Inaugural-Year Exhibitions
June 17, 2014 NEW YORK Caroline Baumann, director of Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum (formerly Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum), today announced plans for the opening of the renovated and restored Carnegie Mansion and the 10 exhibitions that will inaugurate the revamped and expanded gallery spaces. The nation’s only museum devoted exclusively to historic and contemporary...
three-story mansion with brick exterior and sand colored windowsills with climbing wisteria vines and blue sky above.
Annual Fund
Contributions to Cooper Hewitt’s Annual Fund provide crucial support to every aspect of the museum’s broad range of programs, exhibitions, and operations. Your generosity ensures that these outstanding programs continue to educate, inspire, and empower people through design.
Design Dictionary: Tapestry Weaving
See how tapestry weaving works in this short video. Nadia Yaron demonstrates three types of tapestry joins in her Brooklyn storefront studio, Nightwood. What differentiates tapestry weaving from plain weaving is that in a tapestry, the weaver changes weft threads at will as she weaves them across the piece. By doing this, she can create...