The Design Scholars program is a component of DesignPrep, a series of free design-education programs for New York City high-school students, developed to introduce them to opportunities in design. Programs include design workshops with professional designers, college visits, paid internships, studio visits, and portfolio development.

In addition to participating in DesignPrep workshops throughout the spring, Sophomore Scholars will attend a one-week camp for design during the summer (all-expense paid) which challenges students to explore their creativity and critical-thinking skills through a range of techniques and media. Participants work with camp instructors on projects involving multiple design disciplines. Students learn to work individually and collaboratively to broaden their understanding of the world around them.

Scholars will have the unique opportunity to participate in:
• Special workshops
• Portfolio reviews
• Studio visits
• College visits to local and out-of-state schools
• Design Camp at North Carolina State University

Open to NYC public high school Sophomores:
• Participation in 1 DesignPrep program (preferred)

Time Commitment:
• Mandatory Scholars meetings (1 one weekday afternoon a month)
• Mandatory participation in DesignPrep workshops and activities on weekday afternoons (3-6 days a month)
• Some special programs and trips take place during the weekend (3-4 weekend days per year)

Application materials:
• Online Application Form
• Statement of Purpose
• 2 Letters of Recommendations (1 must be from a teacher)
• Academic Transcript

Upon submission of all application finalists will be contacted for an interview.


Questions: If you require additional information please email us at,

DesignPrep is made possible in part by the generous sponsorship of

Additional support is provided by the Altman Foundation, internal Smithsonian Institution funds from the Youth Access Grants program, Deutsche Bank, The New York Community Trust and its Hive Digital Media Learning Fund, the Richard and Jean Coyne Family Foundation, the School of Visual Arts, and the Milton & Sally Avery Arts Foundation.