Please note that you will only be able to attend one session of the program, as they will happen at the same time.

As part of National Design Week, the 2016 National Design Award winners will lead concurrent salons for discussion of new ideas and advancements in design. Forge valuable connections with the brightest minds in the design world and network with fellow attendees. Light refreshments will be served.

The Winners’ Salon is broken into concurrent break-out sessions, and each participate will need to pre-register for one of the following sessions:

Session 1: Designing for the Future with Bruce Mau (Design Mind Award) & Christine Gaspar (The Center for Urban Pedagogy, Corporate & Institutional Achievement Award)

Session 2: Designing for the Environment with Marlon Blackwell (Marlon Blackwell Architects, Architecture Design Award) & Mary Margaret Jones (Hargreaves Associates, Landscape Architecture Award)

Session 3: Designing for Story with Geoff McFetridge (Communication Design Award) & Matt Cottam (Tellart, Interaction Design Award)

Session 4: Designing for Life with Robert Brunner (Ammunition, Product Design Award) & Verda Alexander (Studio O+A, Interior Design Award)


Launched in 2006, National Design Week is held each year in conjunction with the National Design Awards program. During National Design Week, Cooper Hewitt’s award-winning Education Department hosts a series of free public programs centered around the vision and work of the National Design Awards honorees. National Design Week culminates with the National Design Awards Gala.