2011 National Design Awards: People's Design Award - Design Matters on Design Observer

The 2011 People's Design Award goes to Design Matters on Design Observer. Created by Debbie Millman, Design Matters is a free podcast about design and culture. Featuring interviews with designers, artists, and cultural leaders, the show offers incredible insight into the lives and careers of some of the greatest design minds. The show is now exclusively published on Design Observer and all broadcasts can be downloaded for free on iTunes. The People's Design Award is part of a wide range of Cooper-Hewitt programs and events that engage all audiences with design.
Design Matters, Design Observer, podcast, Debbie Millman, National Design Awards, 2011, National Design Award People's Design Award, speech

2011 National Design Awards: Landscape Architecture Award - Gustafson Guthrie Nichol

Gustafson Guthrie Nichol is the winner of the 2011 Landscape Architecture Award. Founded by partners Kathryn Gustafson, Jennifer Guthrie, and Shannon Nichol, the firm designs high-use landscapes in complex, urban contexts throughout the Americas and Asia. One of their projects includes the Robert and Arlene Kogod Courtyard at the Smithsonian American Art Museum and the National Portrait Gallery in Washington, D.C. The Landscape Architecture category recognizes excellence in urban planning and the design of parks and gardens
Gustafson Guthrie Nichol, landscape architect, landscape architecture, Kathryn Gustafson, Jennifer Guthrie, Shannon Nichol, Robert and Arlene Kogod Courtyard, National Portrait Gallery, National Design Awards, 2011, National Design Award Landscape Architecture

2011 National Design Awards: Architecture Design Award - Architecture Research Office

This year's Architecture Design Award winner is Architecture Research Office. Founded in 1993, ARO is led by Stephen Cassell, Adam Yarinsky, and Kim Yao. Utilizing research and analysis to drive design, ARO works with a diverse array of clients to design architecture that unites the conceptual and the pragmatic with a strong, coherent vision. The Architecture Design Award is given to an individual or firm for exceptional and exemplary work in public, commercial, or residential architectural design.
Architecture Research Office, ARO, Architecture, Stephen Cassell, Adam Yarinsky, Kim Yao, National Design Awards, 2011, National Design Award Architecture Design

2011 National Design Awards: Communication Design Award - Rick Valicenti

The 2011 winner for Communication Design is Rick Valicenti. Rick's graphics bristle with innovation, imagination, curiosity, and craft. He has been a leading presence in design as a practitioner, an educator, and a mentor. In 1988, he founded Thirst, a Chicago-based design collaborative devoted to art, function, and authentic human presence. The Communication Design Award is given to an individual or firm for exceptional and exemplary work in graphic or multimedia design.
Rick Valicenti, communication designer, Thirst, Chicago, National Design Awards, 2011, National Design Award Communication Design

2011 National Design Awards: Interaction Design Award - Ben Fry

The winner of the 2011 Interaction Design Award is Ben Fry. Ben pursues a long-held fascination with visualizing data and creating tools for interaction design, most notably Processing, co-developed with Casey Reas. Ben has developed software, printed works, installations, and books that depict and explain topics from the human genome to the evolution of text documents. The Interaction Design Award is given to an individual or firm for the innovative design of digital technology.
Ben Fry, Interaction Design, Casey Reas, National Design Awards, 2011, National Design Award Interaction Design

2011 National Design Awards: Fashion Design Award - J. Mendel

The 2011 Fashion Design Award goes to J. Mendel. Under the creative direction of Gilles Mendel since 1981, the fifth-generation luxury brand was established on the principles of high quality, timeless style, and craftsmanship. Using only the finest materials, Mendel is a true innovator who is renowned for manipulating fabrics in unexpected ways. The Fashion Design Award celebrates one of the most personal—and most public—forms of design expression: the clothes we wear
J. Mendel, Gilles Mendel, fashion design, fashion, National Design Awards, 2011, National Design Award Fashion Design

2011 National Design Awards: Product Design Award - Continuum

This year's winner for Product Design is Continuum. Founded in 1983 by Gianfranco Zaccai, Continuum is a global design and innovation consultancy that strives to improve people's everyday lives. The studio has designed products including the Reebok Pump athletic shoe and Procter & Gamble's Swiffer floor cleaners. The Product Design Award is given to an individual or firm for exceptional work in the design of consumer goods, technology, or home and office furnishings.
Continuum, Gianfranco Zaccai, design consultancy, Reebok Pump, Swiffer, National Design Award, 2011, National Design Award Product Design

2011 National Design Awards: Corporate and Institutional Achievement - Knoll

Hans and Florence Knoll founded their company in 1938 on the belief that good design enriches our lives. That belief thrives today at Knoll through their pioneering analysis of work patterns, reimagining furniture for the ever-changing workplace, and setting standards for sustainable design. Throughout its history, Knoll has fostered the most innovative designers of our time—many here in this room tonight—with one constant goal: a genuine balance of art and industry.
Knoll, furniture design, furniture, National Design Awards, National Design Award for Corporate and Institutional Achievement, 2011

2011 National Design Awards: Lifetime Achievement Award - Matthew Carter

The 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award honors Matthew Carter. Over the last fifty years, Matthew has designed some of the most recognizable typefaces used today, including Bell Centennial, which reduced paper use in telephone books, and the screen fonts Verdana, Tahoma, and Georgia, designed for Microsoft. As a Principal of Carter & Cone Type, he now focuses on developing highly legible fonts for small screen devices—essential in our world today. The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to a distinguished individual who has made lasting contributions to design practice.
Matthew Carter, Carter & Cone Type, typeface designer, Bell Centennial, Verdana, Tahoma, Georgia, National Design Awards, 2011, National Design Award Lifetime Achievement

2011 Holiday Greeting

This happy holiday greeting was designed by Rick Valicenti, winner of the 2011 National Design Award for Communication Design.
Holiday Greeting, 2011, Rick Valicenti, National Design Award, Communication Design, winner, fun design, video