National Design Awards

Design Talks | A Conversation with Michael Sorkin & James Wines

Michael Sorkin is an architect and urbanist whose practice spans design, criticism, and teaching. He is the principal of Michael Sorkin Studio in New York, a global design practice focused on urbanism and green architecture. James Wines is founder and president of SITE, a New York-based architectural studio chartered in 1970.
Architecture, National Design Awards, design talks, Michael Sorkin, James Wines, greene space, SITE

Design Talks | Architect Jeanne Gang

MacArthur Fellow and 2013 National Design Award Winner Jeanne Gang is the founder of Studio Gang Architects, a Chicago-based collective of architects, designers, and thinkers practicing internationally. Gang uses architecture as a medium of active response to contemporary issues and their impact on human experience. Each project resonates with its specific site and culture while addressing larger global themes such as urbanization, climate, and sustainability.
Architecture, National Design Awards, jeanne gang

Sustainability, from a National Design Award winner

Paula Scher—the 2013 National Design Award winner for Communication Design—along with Marion Bantjes and Christopher Niemann have produced the first three in a series of twelve posters promoting the concept of Sustainability. The series, commissioned and art directed by William Drenttel and Jessica Helfand of Winterhouse Publications, features the interpretation of sustainability into conceptual graphic design.
sustainability, poster, Paula Scher, National Design Awards, Jessica Helfand, William Drenttel

2013 National Design Awards Gala

The National Design Awards are bestowed at a gala benefit dinner and awards ceremony in New York City each fall. This year's festivities will be held at the spectacular Pier Sixty on the Hudson River on the evening of Wednesday, October 17. This year's vice-chairs are Susan Avarde, Beth Comstock, Aaron Dignan, Phil Duncan, Alice Gottesman, Jon Kamen, Debbie Millman, David Rockwell, Lela Rose, Lisa Strausfeld, Michael Ventura, Madeline Weinrib, Richard Saul Wurman and Judy Francis Zankel.
gala, awards, National Design Awards, nda, ndw, ceremony

Meet the Staff: Vassiliki Giannopoulos

Vassiliki Giannopoulos, Special Projects Coordinator, National Design Awards, shares her experiences working at Cooper-Hewitt.
meet the staff, design, education, National Design Awards

National Design Awards Gala

Celebrate the Best of American Design National Design Awards Gala Thursday, October 17, 2013 at Pier Sixty, Chelsea Piers, NYC Tables start at $12,500, tickets from $1,250 Reserve now at For more information call 212.849.8340 or email
National Design Awards, gala
, ,

Remembering Niels Diffrient

Niels Diffrient loved many things, from airplanes to ice dancing. He loved his three children and his wife Helena Hernmarck, the internationally known tapestry artist. Encircling those close attachments was his abiding love for people. Human beings were the ultimate subject of Niels Diffrient’s world-changing career. Calling himself an “ombudsman between the user and his circumstance,” he believed that product design should start with human needs and human experience and end with aesthetic considerations.
User-centered design, Niels Diffrient, National Design Awards
, , ,

And the 2013 National Design Award winners are...

National Design Awards

My Marimekko Moment

Melooni is a large-scale design made of concentric ovals in orange, fuchsia, black, and purple on a red ground. It is produced by screen printing on cotton fabric. The Melooni pattern was designed for Marimekko in 1963 by designer Maija Isola, who created 533 designs for Marimekko over the course of her thirty-eight year career. Isola studied as a painter and her designs have a painterly quality about them that is bold, intense, and enthusiastic.
National Design Awards, Jane Thompson, Marimekko, Design Research Company

The National Design Awards

What are the National Design Awards? What makes the Awards unique and important to the country and the world? Acclaimed designers and design thinkers Massimo Vignelli, Debbie Millman, Steven Heller, Walter Hood, Davin Stowell and Isabel & Ruben Toledo explain in this short piece about the Smithsonian Cooper-Hewitt's National Design Awards, its meaning and legacy.
Cooper-Hewitt Design Center, National Design Awards