Cooper-Hewitt: Design for Humans

Join the Cooper-Hewitt for a conversation on user-centered design with National Design Award Winners and Finalists who have been recognized for their contribution to the field of Product Design. Moderated by Jesse Ashlock, former Editor-in-Chief of I.D. Magazine. A pioneer of ergonomic design, Niels Diffrient is driven by the need to improve the way existing products work. For Diffrient, the key to human factors, is getting enough data so you really understand whats happening with the body, mind, social context. You let the user drive design.
Sigi Moeslinger, Antenna Design, Niels Diffrient, Dan Formosa, Smart USA, 2010, Jesse Ashlock, I.D. Magazine, product, Ergonomic, panel, talk, long, public program

Cooper-Hewitt: The Winner's Panel 2010

2010 National Design Award winners participate in a panel discussion about their inspiration and drive as designers and the state of contemporary design in America. Moderated by Stephen Doyle, Communication Design Winner. Speakers include:
Tom Dair, Smart Design, Product Design Winner
 Stephen Kieran, KieranTimberlake, Architecture Design Winner
 Ellen Neises, James Corner Field Operations, Landscape Design Winner
 William Sofield, Interior Design Winner
 Lisa Strausfeld, Interaction Design Winner
National Design Awards, 2010, Winners Panel, cooper-hewitt, interaction design winner, james corner field operations, Kieran Timberlake, museum, Pentagram, Smart Design, smithsonian, Stephen Doyle, studio sofield, talk, long, public program

2010 National Design Awards: Design Mind -- Ralph Caplan

The recipient of the 2010 Design Mind Award is Ralph Caplan. For more than fifty years, Ralph Caplan has been thinking, writing, and speaking about design and collaborating with designers on exhibitions, films, and publications, including editing I.D. magazine.
National Design Awards, 2010, Ralph Caplan, Milton Glaser, lifetime achievement

2010 National Design Awards: U.S. Green Building Council

The 2010 National Design Award for Corporate and Institutional Achievement goes to the U.S. Green Building Council. The U.S. Green Building Council promotes a sustainable future through cost-efficient and energy-saving green buildings.
National Design Awards, 2010, US Green Building Council, LEED, Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design, building, sustainability, Richard Fedrizzi, David Kohler, Corporate and Institutional Achievement

2010 National Design Awards: Architecture Design - KieranTimberlake

The winner of the 2010 Architecture Design Award is KieranTimberlake. Founded in 1984, the firm is noted for its integration of research with design, and a deep environmental ethic.
National Design Awards, 2010, Kieran Timberlake, Architecture, Marilyn Jordan Taylor, University of Pennsylvania, Loblolly, Phillies, Philadelphia

2010 National Design Awards: Product Design - Smart Design

The 2010 Product Design award goes to Smart Design. Founded in 1980, Smart Design is led by Davin Stowell and Tom Dair. They are a multidisciplinary design consultancy, responsible for designing the OXO Good Grips kitchen tools, the SmartGauge instrument cluster for the Ford Fusion Hybrid, New York City taxi graphics, and medical devices for UCB.
National Design Awards, 2010, Smart Design, davin stowell, Tom Dair, OXO Good Grips, New York City Taxi, Industrial Design, product design

2010 National Design Awards: Fashion Design Award - Rodarte

The 2010 Fashion Design Award goes to Rodarte. Rodarte was founded in Pasadena, California, in 2005 by Kate and Laura Mulleavy. Inspired by things as diverse as California Condors, Japanese horror films, and our national parks they do amazing and magical things to fabrics and materials.
National Design Awards, 2010, fashion design, Rodarte, Cecilia Dean, Visionaire, Kate Mulleavy, Laura Mulleavy, sisters, California

2010 National Design Awards: Interaction Design - Lisa Strausfeld

The winner of the 2010 Interaction Design award is Lisa Strausfeld. Lisa Strausfeld is an expert at visualizing information. She specializes in digital information-design projects ranging from software prototypes and Web sites to interpretive displays and large-scale media installations for a range of civic, cultural, and corporate clients
National Design Awards, 2010, Lisa Strausfeld, Pentagram, Interaction Design, technology, OLPC, One Laptop per Child, Sugar, Chee Pearlman

2010 National Design Awards: Interior Design - William Sofield

The recipient of the 2010 Interior Design Award is William Sofield. William Sofield is known for his unique take on modernism. His holistic approach is grounded on craft and materials, creating highly original and welcoming spaces
National Design Awards, 2010, William Sofield, interior design, Tom Ford, Bottega Veneta, Yves St. Laurent, Gucci, SoHo Grand Hotel, New York magazine, Wendy Goodman

2010 National Design Awards: Landscape Design - James Corner Field Operations

The recipient of the 2010 Landscape Design Award is James Corner Field Operations. James Corner established the firm in 1998. Among their works are the High Line in New York City, the pool decks and gardens of City Center in Las Vegas, and Fresh Kills Park on Staten Island
National Design Awards, 2010, James Corner, Field Operations, landscape design, High Line, Fresh Kills, Seattle Central Waterfront, parks, gardens